Cancel downloaded updates in Windows Server

If the server has downloaded automatically an update (such as the SharePoint ones), which you don’t want to install, try following these steps to delete the queue:

  • Open an elevated PowerShell, then run the following command
Stop-Service -Name "wuauserv"
  • Open an elevated PowerShell, then run the following commands to make a backup of the folders we’re going to delete.
cd C:\

'backupwinupdate', 'backupdatastore' | %{New-Item -Name "$_" -ItemType "Directory"}

Copy-Item -Path "C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\Download" -Destination "C:\backupwinupdate" -Recurse
Copy-Item -Path "C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore" -Destination "C:\backupdatastore" -Recurse
  • Check that the backup has been created, then proceed to delete the content of the original folders:
Get-ChildItem -Path C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\Download” -Include * -File -Recurse | foreach { $_.Delete()}
Get-ChildItem -Path C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\DataStore” -Include * -File -Recurse | foreach { $_.Delete()}
  • After clearing the content, you can proceed to start Windows Update:
Start-Service -Name "wuauserv"

You’ll need to reboot at the end of this procedure.

Be sure to clean up the backup folders C:\backupwinupdate and C:\backupdatastore

How to cancel a reservation – Azure

To cancel a reservation you have to have specific permissions on the reservation order. The permissions are not inherited from the subscription, so… contact who created the reservation (or just open a ticket with the Azure Engineers).

Once you have the right account, (or you’ve been given the permissions) go to the reservations tab in the Azure Portal. It’s best to have at least a couple of people who have permissions on the resource. To get to the reservations tab follow the link below:

https://portal.azure.com/#blade/Microsoft_Azure_Reservations/ReservationsBrowseBlade

Select the reservation you want to cancel and click on the name of the resource.

From the top click on “Refund”

Click on return reserved instances once you see the “Refund subtotal” pop up

Please refer to the following docs for additional informations:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/cost-management-billing/reservations/exchange-and-refund-azure-reservations

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/cost-management-billing/reservations/manage-reserved-vm-instance#add-or-change-users-who-can-manage-a-reservation