Delete a user profile in Azure Virtual Desktop – AVD

To remove a user profile in Azure Virtual Desktop, you must first be sure that the user is logged off. If you are unsure on how to do it, follow the guide below.

After you’ve checked this, you got two options based on the type of profile architecture you chose to implement.

  • If the profiles are stored locally, you can proceed to remove them as you’d do in standard W10 machine.
  • If you are using FSLogix, which is the recommended way to handle them, you can proceed to remove the user folder from the Azure File Share.

If you are unsure about which type of user profile solution you use, you can log in to a standard user account (preferably the one you wish to remove) and follow the guide below.

If you fall under the first option, log into the AVD instance/instances with an admin user account, open “Run“, then type netplwiz.exe and click enter. This will open the Advanced User Accounts Control Panel. From there, you’ll get a list of all the users. Next, click on the user profile you’d like to delete and click “Remove”. You’ll have to repeat this procedure for all the AVD hosts in your environment.

If you are running FSLogix, log into the Azure File Share hosting your profiles, then locate the user folder you wish to delete. Usually, the format is either %username%%sid% or “%sid%%username%, depending on whether you have added the FlipFlopProfileDirectoryName registry in the FSLogix configuration (FlipFlopDirectoryName | AVD). Once you have found it, open it, and delete the VHD/ VHDX stored inside, as per the screenshot below. After the VHD deletion has been completed, delete the user profile folder.